Cheat day!

Welcome back Old Man Winter.  It’s snowing outside.  Snow always makes things better.  And I’ve been having a pretty good week.  I made really good choices in the kitchen, despite my wife being home all week.  I’m not saying that she’s a bad influence when it comes to deciding what to eat, but sometimes the meals I cook for myself when I am cutting weight are not always the most appealing dishes.


“but it’s healthy!”

Instead, I served healthy and appealing things like garden pasta spaghetti with lean chicken and fresh mushrooms.  Several of the meals from this week didn’t even have a meat portion.  I did really well with the tomato and rice dish.  My son actually cleaned his plate.  But he also eats pretty much anything I put in front of him regardless of it’s origins.


sometimes he looks at my funny until he tastes it.

I get to take my first progress picture sometime today.  I could have taken it already, but I haven’t.  Which means I haven’t indulged in anything yet.  I’ve had my 10 cups of coffee, black, and my sandwich on whole wheat with mustard.  I decided that instead of a cheat day, i’ll just make it a cheat meal.  Otherwise i’ll get all ‘i’m gonna eat everything’ and freak when I get on the scale in the morning.

So my cheat meal is barbacoa.  It’s in the crock pot right now.  I can smell it and it’s making me salivate.  But I can wait.

William and I had a solid week at the gym I work in.  I went in every morning and burned 1,oo0 calories with cardio and then returned that afternoon to lift.  I have clients peppered in during the afternoons, so our workouts are anywhere between an hour, to maybe a couple of hours on some days.  We lift pretty heavy.


We’re pros.

Neither one of us are really sure why we are weight lifting.  It’s hard.  Our muscles hurt constantly.  I bitch and moan about back day (I hate back day).  But we go.  Six days a week.  Like clock work.  Until now, I’ve never really had larger muscles than I needed.  I’ve been heavy most of my life, so it’s a nice change.  We really don’t know where or when we will stop.  Maybe never.  For the first time in my life I actually fill out a shirt, instead of hang out of them.  The path we are on is a good one, tho.  Maybe at the end of the path there will be a six-pack waiting for me.


– and i’ll do this everywhere I go.

The best part is having a gym partner.  Lifting with someone who has the same goals as you is golden.  Working at the gym I’ve witnessed so many people come in by themselves for a while, then slowly taper off until they’re just gone.  Our days are preset, and I know he’s going to be there each day at the same time.  That really helps me on this path.  Progress is really happening this time.  I can see the muscle growing in places and see the fat disappearing in others.  I’m really excited to see what the coming months bring.


This would be ok.

~ by hopelesslyfunny on February 12, 2012.

One Response to “Cheat day!”

  1. Thank you! That’s far too kind!

Leave a Reply

 
