Cardio, anyone?

This has been a strange week.  My wife left town again so I was able to cook all for myself, and I did.  I was just coming off of the vegan week and decided to do high protein during my free time.  I also really wanted to work on dropping body fat through low intensity cardio. 

Cardio has never really been my strong point.  There was a time a few years ago when I began running on the treadmill at the gym.  I had watched the final episode of The Biggest Loser the night before.  They were running the marathon.  Those (still) fat people were running 20+ miles.  All at once.  I am positive there were some shady camera tricks going on, but for the most part, they were doing it.

                                                                                                                            “I knew it!”

I decided after watching them run, that I could run, too.  So slowly but surely I worked myself up to running a good 4 miles a day.  Then I stopped after a month.  I suppose I just needed to prove to myself I could do it.  Also, my gym is running short on bears.

When most people think ‘cardio’ they think about hitting the elliptical or jogging on the treadmill.  Most of the people I know at the gym are all about getting that heartrate up and sweating.  They move as fast as they possibly can on their machine of choice and keep it up until they’ve hit the desired amount of calories for that session.


“How many calories were in that wine at breakfast?”

For years now when I’ve done cardio it’s been the same.  I would kill myself for 30 to 40 minutes with my heartrate around 160 with sweat just soaking everyone around me.  Then I learned I was doing it wrong.  I wanted to burn fat.  One of the things I learned getting my certification for personal training is that the optimal fat burning heartrate is between rest and 135 bpm.  At that point the body is burning 65% fat calories.  Once the rate goes up past 140 bmp or so, your body needs energy faster than it can burn fat, so the percentage slides in favor of straight up sugar in your blood which can be burned much much faster.  In essence, you’re burning less fat on your body and more of the huge plate of food you ate last night.
                                                                                                        which was healthy, right?

Now, don’t get me wrong, burning off all of that extra sugar is awesome, even if you’re sacrificing burning fat.  The more of that sugar you get out, the less you’ll have turn to fat the next day.  But what if you’re dieting at the same time and don’t have all those extra calories in the bank to burn?  What happens then?
                                                                                                               But I hit 1000 calories!

So, watch out on the cardio.  Slow things down if you need to.  I know I have, and I’ve had some pretty good progress.  I only have a week before I have to take the first progress picture and put it out there for the world to see.  And we already know how I feel about that.

~ by hopelesslyfunny on February 4, 2012.

3 Responses to “Cardio, anyone?”

  1. Great Blog!! wish I had read it sooner! and Boy can I say I have had My heart up way too high as well…. so when u get a min… can u tell how long your cardios are then?? U said u were doing like 600 cal right?

    • I do cardio Monday through Saturday for 52 minutes. The odd number started at 45 minutes because that is how long it took to go over 1000 calories. As I lose weight, the machine is making me do 52 minutes to get to 1000.

  2. very nice thank u! are you using treadmill?

Leave a Reply

 
