Progress Pics

Vegan week is finally over.  Wow.  That was a long 7 days.  I can’t say that I didn’t enjoy it, tho.  I’m very versatile when it comes to a vegan menu.  There’s just so many things to choose from.   My son and I had a fruit smoothie made fresh with 5 different fruits almost every day.  I ate my body weight in mushrooms and rice.  It’s nice to know you can prepare an entire meal in just 3 minutes in the microwave.


Mine wasn’t nearly this pretty.

Vegan week ended with a bang.  My wife came home from out of town for several days and decided we needed to eat at Chili’s.  Now, there’s nothing vegan about Chili’s.  Not even their salads.  I decided that since it was day 7, effit, I’m eating beef tonight.


Sodium?  What sodium?

Their fajitas are ok as fajitas go, I guess.  All that food and they only gave me three tortillas.  And they were tiny and cold.  Doesn’t matter, ate beef.  More like I ate all kinds of animal flesh because they came with shrimp and chicken, too.  Then, there was the appetizer and the three Dr. Pepper refills.  It was awful.  Is it possible to regret a meal while you’re eating it?  The answer is yes.

My meal was also regrettable just minutes after eating it as well.  Have you ever taken something out of your diet for long periods of time only to have your stomach hate you when you decide to bring it back?  I almost didn’t make it back home in time.


You might want to light a match.

But enough of that.  Progress pics.  I’m beginning week three tomorrow and I am dreading the progress pic after week four already.  Full body pics are the foundation of Body Space.  Doesn’t matter what they try to tell you about giving measurements, posting in the forum or even blogging.  It’s about the full body shot and showing it to other people.  Strangers, in fact.


Hi, it’s nice to meet you.

This single picture, if you can bring yourself to take it, can make your world come to a crashing halt.  Everyone has a self image.  An image that can be good or bad.  For most people it’s a fairly decent image.  Our brains even paste that image on the mirror while we’re doing our hair, brushing our teeth or popping zits.


Damn I’m hot.

There’s nothing as soul crashing as the full body pic.  I’ve only taken a few of them, and they’ve all been killers.  Mine made me scream and jump like a jiggly man monkey.  I almost smashed the screen on my iPad before I remembered that my iPad is my second child and I shouldn’t do that.  That one picture can haunt your dreams and literally make you cry.  It’s a bully that pushes you down in the mud no matter how good your day was and takes your bike.  But it’s nothing compared to the dreaded Progress Pic.  I would kill a kitten if it meant my progress picture would look even remotely better than the first picture.


This will only hurt for a second.

Not everyone on BodySpace is going through this, tho.  A simple browse through the site shows people more fit than I can ever hope to be posting progress pics and profile updates.  I do love to look through the profiles of people just like me who are just busting their ass to make that next picture look better.  Even those that the picture looks worse than the first one.


SHIT! SHITSHITSHIT!

With week three starting tomorrow and the thought of taking the next progress pic looming in my nightmares tonight, I will tell you this.  I am enjoying the ride.  Now that I have a lifting partner who would bitch at me if I stopped showing up, I am seeing tons of progress.  He and I have both added some major pounds to our lifts in the past two weeks.  I’m starting to think that we may actually be moving in the right direction.  I may even have a great progress pic coming up soon.


If I can find enough kittens

~ by hopelesslyfunny on January 30, 2012.

One Response to “Progress Pics”

  1. […] Progress Pics Archives […]

Leave a Reply

 
